Share on social media

Contact Halmstads Municipality


Opening hours

Visiting address

035-13 70 00

Monday - Thursday

Rådhuset, Kyrkogatan 5


Kl. 8 am - 5 pm


Phone hours


Postal address

Monday - Thursday

Kl. 8 am - 4 pm

301 05 Halmstad, Sweden

Kl. 7 am - 5 pm






Kl. 7 am - 4 pm



Nine-year compulsory school (6–16 years of age)

The schools in Halmstad municipality should stimulate the pupils' enthusiasm for learning. Schools should lay the foundation for life-long learning. Care, upbringing and education should be integrated and the school should take care of the pupils in the best possible way.    

There are 38 schools in Halmstad, of which 34 are run by the municipal council, providing various educational courses and profiles.

The municipal council-run schools are split into three school districts:

  • North district - Getinge, Steninge, Haverdal, Harplinge, Oskarström, Åled, Söndrum, Frösakull and Gullbrandstorp
  • Central district - Centrala Halmstad, Frennarp, Furet, Kärleken, Holm, Nyhem, Linehed and Östergård
  • South district - Fyllinge, Trönninge, Eldsberga, Vallås, Simlångsdalen, Andersberg and Snöstorp

Four of the schools are independent, meaning another principle body other than the municipal council. They get paid for their activities just like the municipal council-run schools, which is why it doesn’t cost parents anything to send their children there.